Close Menu

What If I Did a Hit and Run But Came Back to Give Information?

What If I Did a Hit and Run But Came Back to Give Information“Never leave the scene of an accident” is one of the tips they emphasize most in drivers’ education classes. Yes, causing an accident can lead to serious financial issues and even criminal charges—but you fix nothing by fleeing the scene of an accident in Colorado.

This only compounds your problems. What if you return to the crash scene after leaving? Does that protect you from further legal concerns? Learn about driving safely in Denver and call the car accident lawyers at Colorado Accident Attorneys at 303-567-7981 if you’ve been the victim of a hit & run.

In Colorado, there are several laws addressing hit and run accidents. Much depends on who is harmed in the accident and how severe the injuries are. If you’ve fled the scene of an accident, it’s crucial to know what you’re up against and the potential penalties you’re facing—especially in the wake of increasing hit and run accidents in Colorado.

The team at Colorado Accident Attorneys can help you if you’ve been injured in a hit and run. Let’s talk about your injuries and losses so we can figure out how best to help you. Call us at 303-567-7981 to get started.

Hit and Run Laws in Colorado

The severity of fleeing the scene of an accident is universally recognized, which is why the state of Colorado has multiple laws addressing it. Per Colorado statute 42-4-1601, a driver involved in a car collision must stop their vehicle as close to the scene as possible. Failing to do so when there is property damage is a class 2 misdemeanor.

The penalties are stiffer when someone is injured. Failing to stop when someone is not seriously injured is a class 1 traffic misdemeanor that could lead to up to one year in jail and a fine as high as $1,000. If someone suffers serious bodily harm in the accident, leaving the scene is a class 4 felony punishable by up to six years in prison and fines up to $500,000. Should the accident result in someone’s death, leaving the scene is a class 3 felony that could lead to up to 12 years in prison and fines as high as $750,000.

This, of course, solely refers to the criminal penalties of a hit and run. Doing a hit and run also exposes the driver to civil liability if the victim files a lawsuit against them.

Does Returning to the Scene Protect You?

Fleeing may have been a natural and instinctive response after causing an accident. After driving away, though, perhaps you thought about what you’d just done. Maybe you realized that there were almost certainly security cameras where the accident occurred and that leaving the scene was wrong. Whether driven by your moral compass or a fear of even greater repercussions, you returned to the scene to report the accident and provide your information.

It’s important to know that returning to the crash scene does not absolve you of your initial choice to flee the scene. Even if you later returned, you still committed a hit and run. However, the fact that you returned to the scene willingly could have a significant impact on the outcome of your case. If you return willingly, rather than being tracked down by the police hours or days later, it shows a willingness to cooperate and take responsibility for what you did. From there, it is up to the prosecutor to decide how they want to proceed. They may decline to press charges or they may decide to move forward with a case against you. It may depend on how seriously injured the occupants of the other vehicle are.

Your Next Steps After a Hit and Run

After you return to the scene of a hit and run, it’s important to take steps to protect yourself and your future. You may need to talk to a criminal defense attorney to prepare for any investigation that may occur and any charges you may face.

What if you’re the victim of a hit and run? In that case, you need to talk to a car accident lawyer in Boulder or throughout Colorado. You may be entitled to compensation, and hit and run charges may strengthen your case against the other party.

Choose the Colorado Car Accident Attorneys to Inquire About Filing a Personal Injury Claim

If you’ve been injured by a hit and run driver, find out if you are owed compensation. Let’s sit down and talk about your accident and what comes next. Contact us online or call us at 303-567-7981.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn